Softball Garners Four Atlantic 10 Postseason Awards
Bookmark and Share

Softball Garners Four Atlantic 10 Postseason Awards

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – As announced by the Atlantic 10 Conference, the George Mason softball team picked up four postseason conference honors. Marina Vitalich received two accolades, while teammates Samantha Zaccari and Sarah Solano were also recognized.

Vitalich picked up both Second Team All-Conference and All-Rookie honors after taking the mound in 31 appearances her freshman campaign. She posted a 14-10 record to go along with a 1.75 ERA and earned two A-10 Rookie of the Week honors. The San Pedro, Calif., native tossed 148.0 innings, 13 complete games, three shutouts and three saves. In 148.0 innings, Vitalich recorded 174 strikeouts, while allowing only 28 walks. Earning the victory over La Salle, Vitalich also recorded her first collegiate home run at the plate to tie the game.

Joining Vitalich on the All-Rookie Team was teammate and California native Zaccari. The Placentia, Calif., native hit .263 on the season appearing in 37 contests and earned the start in 36. Zaccari recorded 99 trips to the plate, scoring 19 runs, 17 walks, 12 RBI and six doubles.

A three-time Peter N. Stearns Provost Scholar Athlete, Solano earned a spot on the All-Academic Team. The senior appeared in 28 games her senior season, batting .212 for the year, driving in eight runs and scoring seven.

Joining Vitalich and Zaccari on the All-Rookie Team were Dayton's Kyle Davidson and Jessica Gilliam, Fordham's Jessica Hughes and Chelsea Skrepenak, UMass' Kaycee Carbone, Erin Stacevicz and Kaitlyn Stavinoha, Becca Rogers of URI and Amanda Kulp and Ashley Ventura from Saint Joseph's.

2016 Atlantic 10 Softball Annual Awards
Player of the Year: Lindsay Mayer, Fordham
Pitcher of the Year: Manda Cash, Dayton
Rookie of the Year: Jessica Hughes, Fordham
Coach of the Year: Bridget Orchard, Fordham

First Team All-Conference
First Base – Madison Shaw, Fordham
Second Base – Jessica Hughes, Fordham
Third Base – Lindsay Mayer, Fordham
Shortstop – Jena Cozza, UMass
Catcher – Kaylyn Zierke, Saint Joseph's
Outfield – Sydney Canessa, Fordham
Outfield – Gabrielle Snyder, Dayton
Outfield – Kelli Rohan, St. Bonaventure
Designated Player – Brianna Lore, Saint Louis
Pitcher – Manda Cash, Dayton
Pitcher – Meg Colleran, UMass

Second Team All-Conference
First Base – Taylor Carbone, UMass
Second Base – Allie Macfarlane, Saint Louis
Third Base – Elizabeth Everingham, Saint Louis
Shortstop – Emily McDonough, St. Bonaventure
Catcher – Ali Summers, Rhode Island
Outfield – Monica Macchiarulo, George Washington
Outfield – Amanda Kulp, Saint Joseph's
Outfield – Mackenzie Peter, Saint Louis
Designated Player – Brandi Harkness, Saint Joseph's
Pitcher – Marina Vitalich, George Mason
Pitcher – Lauren Quense, Fordham

Kyle Davidson, Dayton
Jessica Gilliam, Dayton
Jessica Hughes, Fordham
Chelsea Skrepenak, Fordham
Marina Vitalich, George Mason
Samantha Zaccari, George Mason
Kaycee Carbone, UMass
Erin Stacevicz, UMass
Kaitlyn Stavinoha, UMass
Becca Rogers, Rhode Island
Amanda Kulp, Saint Joseph's
Ashley Ventura, Saint Joseph's

Gabrielle Snyder, Dayton
Sydney Canessa, Fordham
Lindsay Mayer, Fordham
Amy Van Hoven, Fordham
Sarah Solano, George Mason
Megan Linn, George Washington
Kendra Heyer, La Salle
Olivia Hendricks, Rhode Island
Emily McDonough, St. Bonaventure
Kelli Rohan, St. Bonaventure
Katie Sinclair, St. Bonaventure
Elizabeth Everingham, Saint Louis
Mackenzie Peter, Saint Louis

Print Friendly Version