Mason Swimming and Diving Team Honored
Bookmark and Share

Mason Swimming and Diving Team Honored

Richmond, Va. - The George Mason men's swimming and diving team was honored with four individual awards from the CAA for this past season's performances.  Bryan Bahr , Fernando Rubio , Frank Burdell and Coach Dennis Ceppa , all received a specific honor.

Bryan Bahr won the CAA Men's Diver of the Year award.  It is the second straight season he has won this award.  He finished first in the 3-meter dive at the CAA Championship for the third consecutive year with a score of 393.30 points.  The junior also posted a fifth place finish in the 1-meter dive with 296.25 points.  He qualified for the NCAA Zone A Diving Championship and placed fourth in the 3-meter dive and eighth in the 1-meter dive.  Bahr was honored as CAA Men's Diver of the Week three times this season.

Frank Burdell was named CAA Men's Rookie Diver of the Year.  He was the highest finisher of all freshmen in both dives at the CAA Championships.  He finished ninth in both the 1-meter and 3-meter dives with scores of 265.15 and 288.95, respectively. 

Fernando Rubio shared the CAA Men's Swimming Rookie of the Year honor with Old Dominion freshman Sidni Hoxha.  Rubio had three top-five finishes at the CAA Championships.  He was second in the 200-yard IM (1:50.60), second in the 400-yard IM (3:53.93), and fourth in the 1650-yard freestyle (15:48.64). 

Dennis Ceppa received the Men's Diving Coach of the Year award in just his first season with the Patriots.  He helped Mason capture first and third place in the 3-meter dive as well as second place in the 1-meter dive at the CAA Championships.  He also helped send Bahr and Derrick Butts to the NCAA Zone A Diving Championship.   

Print Friendly Version